No director. New works. Free if you're broke. Thirty-five years.

Theater Oobleck is an artistic collective dedicated to producing and performing original works of theater for the benefit of, and at low or no cost to, the members of the Chicago community and beyond. All our works are created and developed by members of the Oobleck ensemble, working in concert to create a collaborative vision without an overseeing director. We have produced over 70 world-premiere productions over the past 35 years, as well as 18 remounts of earlier productions.

While we are focused in creating work in Chicago, we have also toured to New York (eight times); Puerto Rico (twice); Madison (twice); Milwaukee; Houston; Ann Arbor; South Bend; Providence; Worcester, Massachusetts; New London, Connecticut; Northfield, Minnesota; Champaign, Illinois; Lewiston, Maine; and Durham, Raleigh, & Carrboro, North Carolina. Oobleck works have been re-mounted by theaters in American cities including Austin, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, St. Louis, Philadelphia, Portland, Milwaukee, San Francisco, Cleveland, and Savannah; and internationally in the United Kingdom, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Norway, Finland, and Luxembourg.

Oobleck Regulars:

Kristin Basta
Martha Bayne
Dave Buchen
Jeff Dorchen
David Isaacson
Terri Kapsalis
Mickle Maher
Guy Massey
Colm O’Reilly
Diana Slickman

Oobleck Board:

Brian Azzarello
Ann Cibulskis
John Corbett
Dennis Huston
Kat McJimsey
Dan Montgomery
Bob Stockfish